Sections

AOCS Sections are neighborhoods within the greater AOCS global community—each offering unique, regional viewpoints on the importance of fats and oils to people everywhere.

Benefits of Section Membership

  • Provides a local forum for fats and oils professionals
  • Enhances your networking opportunities in your regional marketplace
  • Provides volunteer and leadership opportunities

Member dues contribute to and sustain Section-specific awards, events, and support student involvement. Interested in joining a section? Contact AOCS.

Guidelines (.pdf)

Nominations open until Friday, September 13, for Canadian Section officers!

See descriptions below to learn more about each role and nominate a colleague at bit.ly/CAOCS-Election-2019.

Chairperson

  • Direct and oversee Section activities
  • Arrange and Chair the Section Leadership meetings
  • Identify possible volunteers for Section activities
  • Represent the Section and its interests at Section Council meeting

Vice-Chairperson

  • Prepare Section newsletter and notices
  • Recruit potential members to join the Section
  • Assist the Chair and assume duties of Chair when necessary
  • Attend AOCS Section Council meetings

Secretary-Treasurer

  • Take minutes during Section Leadership meetings
  • Prepare the budget reflecting the Section’s future program plans with income and expense projections with AOCS staff
  • Review the Section financials with AOCS staff and report activities to the Section’s Leadership
  • Attend AOCS Section Council meetings


The Asian Section welcomes all who are interested, and holds meetings annually.

Annual member dues $15. 

Section Leadership

Chairperson
Kazuo Miyashita, kmiya@fish.hokudai.ac.jp

Vice-Chairperson
Suk-Hoo Steve Yoon, shooyoon@woosuk.ac.kr

Secretary
Ahmad Parveez Ghulam Kadir, parveez@mpob.gov.my

Advisor
Ching H. Hou, ching.hou@ars.usda.gov

Asian Section Meetings 2015 (.pdf)

Bringing together professionals in the Australia and Pacific Rim geographical regions.

Annual member dues $25. 

Section Leadership

President
Matt Miller, matt.miller@cawthron.org.nz

Immediate Past President
Karen Murphy, karen.murphy@unisa.edu.au

Treasurer
Amy Logan, amy.logan@csiro.au

Secretary
Jacqui Adcock, jadcock@deakin.edu.au

Communications Manager
Clare Flakelar, Clare.Flakelar@acu.edu.au

Assistant Newsletter Editor
Cintia Dias, cintia.dias@uon.edu.au

General Committee Members
Lucky Inturrisi
Samaneh Ghasemi Fard
Sara Ghorbani Gorji
Matthew Taylor
Surinder Singh
Xue-Rong Zhou
Rod Smith
Kirill Lagutin
Glenn Elliott
Neil Mann

 

 

Bringing together professionals from Canadian geographical regions. Dues are used to send students to the AOCS and CAOCS annual meetings.

Annual member dues $15. 

Section Leadership

Chair
Farah Skold, Farah.Skold@solexthermal.com

Vice Chair
Chibuike Udenigwe, cudenigw@uottawa.ca

Secretary/Treasurer
Eoin Moloney, Eoin.Moloney@richardson.ca

Student Affairs
Sachin Goel, sachin.goel@mail.utoronto.ca
Olayinka Olarewaju, ayooo@myumanitoba.ca
Sayeh Sinichi, s.sinichi@mail.utoronto.ca

Member-at-Large
Xiao Qui, xiao.qiu@usask.ca

Past-Chair
Dérick Rousseau, rousseau@ryerson.ca

Past-Treasurer
Jonathan Curtis, jcurtis1@ualberta.ca

The AOCS China Section:

  • Promotes information exchange, collaboration and partnership between Chinese and global fats, oils and related industries
  • Brings together professionals in the China geographical region
  • Supports friendship and professional growth of its members
  • Ensures high standards, superior quality, safety and value-added applications of fats, oils, proteins and related-materials

Learn more about the China Section.

Annual member dues $0.  

Section Leadership

President
Dr. Jiang Lianzhou, jlzname@163.com

Vice-Presidents
Dr. Liu Keshun, Keshun.Liu@ars.usda.gov

Dr. Liu Yuanfa, foodscilyf@163.com

Dr. Xu Xuebing,  xuxuebing@cn.wilmar-intl.com

Secretary-General
Dr. Sui Xiaonan, xiaonan.sui@hotmail.com

Advisory Council

Wang Tong (Toni), Ph.D.
Ma Kangming, Ph.D.
Liu Guoqin, Ph.D.
Bi Yanlan, Ph.D.
Wang Manyi, Ph.D.

Bringing together professionals in the European geographical region.

Annual member dues $25, includes membership in Euro Fed Lipid.

Section Leadership

Chair
Daniel Kalnin, daniel.kalnin@web.de

Leadership Team
Ignace Debruyne, ignace.debruyne@gmail.com

Etienne Deffense, e.deffense@crystallisation.be

John Harwood, harwood@cardiff.ac.uk

Paul Smith, Cargill, paul_smith@cargill.com

Aalbert (Bart) Zwijnenburg, Bart.Zwijnenburg@matthey.com

Bringing together professionals in the geographic area of India.  The Section works closely with the Oil Technologists Association of India (OTAI).

Annual member dues $0. 

To get involved, contact AOCS:
Victoria Rouleau
Victoria Rouleau | +1 217-693-4821

Bringing together professionals in South America, Central America, Mexico and the Caribbean.

Annual member dues $15. 

Section President

Leon Pablo Espinosa, Desmet Ballestra North America Inc., USA, lec@desmetballestra.com 

Leadership Team
Roberto Berbesi, Oil-Dri Corporation, USA
Federico Corvetto, South American Trading LLC, USA
Elena Dibildox, Universidad Autonoma de SLP, Mexico
Marcus Dore, Sociedade Brasileira De Óleos e Gorduras, Brazil
Sandra Moya, Clariant, Mexico
Andrés G. Rumayor, Palsgaard Industri, Mexico