Divisions

Divisions are at the forefront of all member activities. Through active participation, Division members chart the course for the future direction of the AOCS interest areas.

Have a voice

LEAD → Volunteer within a Division
GROW → Invest in the future by engaging up-and-coming student members
GO! → Attend the AOCS Annual Meeting to experience the full benefits of your Division community!

  • Technical Program
    Divisions plan the scientific sessions at the AOCS Annual Meeting
  • Awards
    Division awards inspire, encourage advances in industry and research, and support students
  • Networking
    Division-sponsored events at the AOCS Annual Meeting provide opportunities to connect with colleagues from around the world

And this is just the beginning. Because Divisions connect you to a network of individuals with the expertise and interests related to your area of specialization, the possibilities are endless.

Member dues contribute to and sustain Division-specific awards, events, and technical programming.

View the Division brochure (.pdf) to find your fit. Interested in joining a division? Contact AOCS.


Promotes professional interest, communication and expert competency in the analytical chemistry field.

Annual member dues $20.

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Sneh Bhandari, Merieux Nutrisciences, USA
sneh.bhandari@mxns.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Pierluigi Delmonte, US Food and Drug Administration, USA
Pierluigi.Delmonte@fda.hhs.gov

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Cynthia Srigley, US Food and Drug Administration, USA
cynthia.srigley@fda.hhs.gov

To contribute newsletter content, contact Susan Seegers, susan.seegers@bunge.com.

Analytical Resources:

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the April 2018 Division newsletter.

Topics include the use of techniques, such as fermentation, tissue culture and cloning as well as molecular genetics to provide new and improved materials from plant and microbial sources; including the use of enzymes and whole cells for biotransformation of products.

Annual member dues $20. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Lu-Kwang (Luke) Ju, The Akron University, USA
lukeju@uakron.edu  

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Long (Joe) Zou, Bunge Oils, Inc., USA
long.zou@bunge.com  

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Jay Shockey, US Department of Agriculture, USA
jay.shockey@ars.usda.gov  

To contribute newsletter content, contact Byung Hee Kim, bhkim@sookmyung.ac.kr.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the April 2018 Division newsletter.

The Edible Applications Technology Division is made up of professionals in the processing and utilization of lipids industry with primary focus on food applications.

Annual member dues $20. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Farnaz Maleky, Ohio State University, USA
maleky.1@osu.edu

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Kaustuv Bhattacharya, DuPont Nutrition & Health, Denmark
kaustuv.bhattacharya@dupont.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Sarah Echols, Golden Boy Foods, USA
sarah.echols@postholdings.com

To contribute newsletter content, Farnaz Maleky, maleky.1@osu.edu and Marjorie Ladd Parada, fs13mlp@leeds.ac.uk.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the April 2018 Division newsletter.

The Health and Nutrition Division promotes and facilitates communication and cooperation among professionals whose interests in lipid biochemistry and physiology relate to all aspects of dietary fats and health; encompasses the technical areas of dietary fats and general health.

Annual member dues $20. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Matthew Picklo, US Department of Agriculture, USA
matthew.picklo@ars.usda.gov

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Fabiola Dionisi, Nestlé Research Center, Switzerland
fabiola.dionisi@rdls.nestle.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Kacie Ho, University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA
kacieho@hawaii.edu

To contribute newsletter content, contact Kacie Ho, kacieho@hawaii.edu.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the August 2017 Division newsletter.

For professionals involved in research, development, engineering, marketing, and testing of industrial products and co-products from fats and oils, including glycerine and its derivatives.

Annual member dues $15. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Rongpeng Wang, CVC Thermoset Specialties-Emerald Performance Material, USA
rongpengwang@gmail.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Eric Cochran, Iowa State University, USA
ecochran@iastate.edu

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Tim Abraham, Cargill Inc., USA
tim_abraham@cargill.com

To contribute newsletter content, contact Tim Abraham, Tim_Abraham@cargill.com .

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the October 2018 Division newsletter.

The Lipid Oxidation and Quality Division is for professionals in lipid oxidation with a major focus in food applications.

Annual member dues $15. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Jill Moser, US Department of Agriculture, USA
jill.moser@ars.usda.gov

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Xiaoqing (Nora) Yang, Kalsec, Inc., USA
nyang@kalsec.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Bingcan Chen, North Dakota State University, USA
bingcan.chen@ndsu.edu

To contribute newsletter content, contact Shawn Pan, Shawn.Pan@bunge.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the April 2018 Division newsletter.

Promotes professional interest, communication, and competence of experts in the phospholipid and lecithin field.

The Division maintains a close working relationship with the International Lecithin and Phospholipid Society (ILPS).

Annual member dues $20. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Mabel Tomás, CIDCA-UNLP, Argentina
mabtom@hotmail.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Linsen Liu, Bunge Loders Croklaan, USA
linsen.liu@bunge.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Swapnil Jadhav, Archer Daniels Midland Co., USA
swapnil.jadhav@adm.com

To contribute newsletter content, contact Lingzhi Cheong, lingzhicheong@yahoo.com or Jingbo Li, jingboli111@gmail.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the April 2018 Division newsletter.

The Processing Division advances the processing knowledge and managerial skills by providing a forum of technical information and networking opportunities, to promote and facilitate communication and cooperation between members, and to mentor young professionals.

Annual member dues $10.

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Richard Barton, N Hunt Moore & Assoc Inc., USA
rich@nhmoore.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Marcelo Usseglio, ProSimTechs, Argentina
mcu@prosimtechs.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
William (Bill) Younggreen, Alfa Laval Inc., USA
william.younggreen@alfalaval.com  

To contribute newsletter content, contact Brent German, hbrentgerman@gmail.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the August 2018 Division newsletter.

Provides a forum for the exchange of professional expertise.

Annual member dues $15. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Buddhi Lamsal, Iowa State University, USA
lamsal@iastate.edu

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Chibuike Udenigwe,  University of Ottawa, Canada
cudenigw@uottawa.ca

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Lamia L'Hocine, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), Canada
lamia.lhocine@canada.ca

To contribute newsletter content, contact Lingyun Chen, lingyun.chen@ualberta.ca and student assistant Elisa Di Stefano, edist036@uottawa.ca.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the January 2018 Division newsletter.

Encompasses the sciences and technologies associated with the development and production of surfactants, detergents, and soaps.

Annual member dues $30. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Raj Panandiker, The Procter and Gamble Co., USA
panandiker.rk@pg.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Keith Genco, Arkema, Inc., USA
keith.genco@arkema.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Michael Williams, Evonik Corporation, USA
michael.williams@evonik.com

To contribute newsletter content, contact Rob Zehr, robert.zehr@churchdwight.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the September 2018 Division newsletter.