Sections

AOCS Sections are neighborhoods within the greater AOCS global community—each offering unique, regional viewpoints on the importance of fats and oils to people everywhere.

AOCS Sections are neighborhoods within the greater AOCS global community—each offering unique, regional viewpoints on the importance of fats, oils, surfactants, proteins and related materials.

Benefits of Section Membership

  • Provides a local forum for fats and oils professionals
  • Enhances your networking opportunities in your regional marketplace
  • Provides volunteer and leadership opportunities

Member dues contribute to and sustain Section-specific awards, events and support student involvement. Interested in joining a section? Complete this application and email to membership@aocs.org

Join



The Asian Section welcomes all who are interested, and holds meetings annually.

Annual member dues $15. 

Section Leadership

Chairperson
Ahmad Parveez Ghulam Kadir, Malaysian Palm Oil Board, Malaysia
parveez@mpob.gov.my

Vice-Chairperson
Jun Ogawa, Kyoto University, Japan
ogawa@kais.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Secretary/Treasurer
In-Hwan Kim, Korea University, Korea 
k610in@korea.ac.kr

Section Resources
Read the October 2021 Section newsletter.

Bringing together professionals in the Australia and Pacific Rim geographical regions.

Annual member dues $25. 

Section Leadership

President
Matt Miller, matt.miller@cawthron.org.nz

Immediate Past President
Karen Murphy, karen.murphy@unisa.edu.au

Vice President
Samaneh Ghasemi Fard, samane.ghasemifard@gmail.com 

Treasurer
Matthew Taylor, m.taylor@csiro.au

Secretary
Jacqui Adcock, jadcock@deakin.edu.au

Communications Manager
Clare Flakelar, Clare.Flakelar@acu.edu.au

General Committee Members
Amy Logan
Kirill Lagutin
Lucky Inturrisi
Xue-Rong Zhou
Samaneh Ghasemi Fard
Neil Mann
Xiao Su
Rod Smith
Surinder Singh
Glenn Elliott

Check back for upcoming Section webinars that are in the works!

Section Resources

Bringing together professionals from Canadian geographical regions. Dues are used to send students to the AOCS and CAOCS annual meetings.

Annual member dues $15. 

Visit 2022 Canadian Lipids and Proteins Conference for more details on research, processing and product innovation for foods and value-added products.

Section Leadership


The Canadian Section of AOCS (CAOCS) elected five new members to serve on its 2020-2021 Leadership Team:

  • Chairperson: Xiao Qiu, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatchewan
  • Vice Chairperson: Apollinaire Tsopmo, Carleton University, Ontario
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Andrew Gravelle, University of Guelph, Ontario
  • Student Affairs: Hongbing Fan, University of Alberta, Alberta 

Section Resources

The AOCS China Section:

  • Promotes information exchange, collaboration and partnership between Chinese and global fats, oils and related industries
  • Brings together professionals in the China geographical region
  • Supports friendship and professional growth of its members
  • Ensures high standards, superior quality, safety and value-added applications of fats, oils, proteins and related-materials

Learn more about the China Section.

Annual member dues $0.  

Section Leadership

President
Dr. Jiang Lianzhou, jlzname@163.com

Vice-Presidents
Dr. Liu Keshun, Keshun.Liu@ars.usda.gov

Dr. Liu Yuanfa, foodscilyf@163.com

Dr. Xu Xuebing,  xuxuebing@cn.wilmar-intl.com

Secretary-General
Dr. Sui Xiaonan, xiaonan.sui@hotmail.com

Standing Committee Members

Liu Guoqin, Ph.D.
Ma Kangming, Ph.D.
Wang Tong (Toni), Ph.D.
Wang Yong, Ph.D.

Advisory Council

Sun Shangde, Ph.D.
Wang Manyi, Ph.D.
Zhou Dayong, Ph.D.
Zhang Hui, Ph.D.
Zheng Mingming, Ph.D.
Yu Xiuzhu, Ph.D.

Section Resources

Bringing together professionals in the European geographical region.

Annual member dues $25, includes membership in Euro Fed Lipid.

Section Leadership

Chair
Paul Smith, paul_smith@cargill.com

Leadership Team
Ignace Debruyne, ignace.debruyne@gmail.com

Etienne Deffense, e.deffense@crystallisation.be

Stephanie Marty-Terrade, Stephanie.Marty-Terrade@rdyo.nestle.com

Bringing together professionals in the geographic area of India.  The Section works closely with the Oil Technologists Association of India (OTAI).

Annual member dues $0. 

To get involved, contact AOCS:
Janet S. Cheney
Janet.cheney@aocs.org

Bringing together professionals in South America, Central America, Mexico and the Caribbean.

Annual member dues $15. 

Section President

Sandra Moya, Clariant
sandra1.moya@clariant.com

Leadership Team
Ana Milena Martinez, Daabon Group, Columbia
Andrés G. Rumayor, Palsgaard Industri, Mexico
Carlos Ramirez, Clariant
Elena Dibildox, Universidad Autonoma de SLP, Mexico
Federico Corvetto, South American Trading LLC, USA
Leon Pablo Espinosa, Desmet Ballestra North America Inc., USA
Marcus Dore, Sociedade Brasileira De Óleos e Gorduras, Brazil
Roberto Berbesi, Oil-Dri Corporation, USA

Read the March 2021 Section newsletter.

Read the September 2021 Section newsletter.