Divisions

Gain an inside connection.

Divisions are interest communities within AOCS that form the building blocks of the Society. These communities represent special interests, share technical expertise, and offer learning and networking opportunities to like–minded professionals who work in the field of fats, oils, proteins, surfactants and related products.

Contribute to the development of AOCS programs.

  • Improve the effectiveness and efficiency of membership appointments to AOCS committees.
  • Offer volunteer opportunities within AOCS.
  • Supply ideas and leadership for technical program development.
  • Present a structure that maximizes communication among the membership, the AOCS Governing Board, and the AOCS professional staff.
  • Help shape Society governance.
  • Provide a community within the Society where you can focus on your interests and maximize your membership investment.

Interested in adding a Division to your current AOCS membership? Contact AOCS (membership@aocs.org). New AOCS members can become a part of a Division when joining the Society.

Join a Division

Promotes professional interest, communication and expert competency in the analytical chemistry field.

Annual member dues $20.

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Francesca Giuffrida, Nestle Research, Switzerland
francesca.giuffrida@rdls.nestle.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Giorgia Purcaro, University of Liege, Belgium
gpurcaro@uliege.be

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Lisa Clement, Cargill Inc., USA
lisa_clement@cargill.com

To contribute newsletter content, contact Susan Seegers, susan.seegers@bunge.com.

Analytical Resources:

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the February 2021 Division newsletter.

Topics include the use of techniques, such as fermentation, tissue culture and cloning as well as molecular genetics to provide new and improved materials from plant and microbial sources; including the use of enzymes and whole cells for biotransformation of products.

Annual member dues $20. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Long (Joe) Zou, Bunge Creative Solutions Center, USA
long.zou@bunge.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Todd Underiner, Procter & Gamble, USA  
underiner.tl@pg.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Yomi Watanabe, Osaka Rest. Inst. of Industrial Science & Technology, Japan
yomi@omtri.or.jp

To contribute newsletter content, contact Sarah Willett at sarah.willett@kerry.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the March 2021 Division newsletter.

The Edible Applications Technology Division is made up of professionals in the processing and utilization of lipids industry with primary focus on food applications.

Annual member dues $20. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Supratim Ghosh, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
supratim.ghosh@usask.ca

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Filip VanBockstaele, Ghent University, Belgium
Filip.VanBockstaele@UGent.be

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Serpil Metin, Cargill Inc., USA
serpil_metin@cargill.com

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the March 2021 Division newsletter.

The Health and Nutrition Division promotes and facilitates communication and cooperation among professionals whose interests in lipid biochemistry and physiology relate to all aspects of dietary fats and health; encompasses the technical areas of dietary fats and general health.

Annual member dues $20. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Fabiola Dionisi, Nestlé Research Center, Switzerland
fabiola.dionisi@rdls.nestle.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Matthew (Matt) Miller, Cawthron Institute Nelson, New Zealand
matt.miller@cawthron.org.nz

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Jake Olson, TerViva, USA
jake.olson@terviva.com

To contribute newsletter content, contact Kacie Ho, kacieho@hawaii.edu.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the March 2021 Division newsletter.

For professionals involved in research, development, engineering, marketing, and testing of industrial products and co-products from fats and oils, including glycerine and its derivatives.

Annual member dues $15. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Eric Cochran, Iowa State University, USA
ecochran@iastate.edu

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Brajendra (BK) Sharma, USDA-ARS, EERC, USA
brajendra.sharma@usda.gov

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Helen Ngo, USDA ARS ERRC, USA
helen.ngo@ars.usda.gov

To contribute newsletter content, contact Tim Abraham, Tim_Abraham@cargill.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the February 2021 Division newsletter.

The Lipid Oxidation and Quality Division is for professionals in lipid oxidation with a major focus in food applications.

Annual member dues $15. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
David Pinkston, ADM, USA
david.pinkston@adm.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
David Johnson, Kalsec, USA
djohnson@kalsec.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Marc Pignitter, University of Vienna, Austria
marc.pignitter@univie.ac.at

To contribute newsletter content, contact Shawn Pan, Shawn.Pan@bunge.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the Spring 2020 Division newsletter.

Promotes professional interest, communication, and competence of experts in the phospholipid and lecithin field.

The Division maintains a close working relationship with the International Lecithin and Phospholipid Society (ILPS).

Annual member dues $20. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Ernesto Hernandez, Advanced Lipid Consultants, USA
hernandezerne@gmail.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Ozan Ciftci, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
ciftci@unl.edu

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Tao Fei, University of Tennessee, USA
tfei1@utk.edu

To contribute newsletter content, contact Lingzhi Cheong, lingzhicheong@yahoo.com or Jingbo Li, jingboli111@gmail.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the March 2021 Division newsletter.

The Processing Division advances the processing knowledge and managerial skills by providing a forum of technical information and networking opportunities, to promote and facilitate communication and cooperation between members, and to mentor young professionals.

Annual member dues $10.

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Michael (Mike) Martinez, Natural Plant Products, Inc., USA
mmartinez@meadowfoam.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Interim Vice Chair
Alan Paine, Consultant, United Kingdom
alanrp@yahoo.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Darren Litle, Arisdyne, USA
dlitle@arisdyne.com  

To contribute newsletter content, contact Brent German, hbrentgerman@gmail.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the April 2021 Division newsletter.

Provides a forum for the exchange of professional expertise.

Annual member dues $15. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Lamia L'Hocine,  AAFC Saint-Hyacinthe Research and Development Centre Canada
lamia.lhocine@canada.ca

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Lingyun Chen, University of Alberta, Canada
lingyun.chen@ualberta.ca

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Kaustav Majumder, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
kaustav.majumder@unl.edu

To contribute newsletter content, contact Kaustav Majumder at kaustav.majumder@unl.edu and student assistant Yifu Chu at yifu4@ualberta.ca.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the March 2021 Division newsletter.

Encompasses the sciences and technologies associated with the development and production of surfactants, detergents, and soaps.

Annual member dues $30. 

To get involved, contact:
Chair
Keith Genco, Arkema, Inc., USA
keith.genco@arkema.com

To participate in annual meeting technical programming, contact:
Vice Chair
Sanja Natali, ExxonMobil, USA
sanja.natali@exxonmobil.com

To engage in upcoming networking events, contact:
Secretary-Treasurer
Hongwei Shen, Colgate-Palmolive Company, USA
hongwei_shen@colpal.com

To contribute newsletter content, contact Rob Zehr, robert.zehr@churchdwight.com.

Explore the Division's Awards Program:

Read the March 2021 Division newsletter.