AOCS Sections are neighborhoods within the greater AOCS global community—each offering unique, regional viewpoints on the importance of fats and oils to people everywhere.

AOCS Sections are neighborhoods within the greater AOCS global community—each offering unique, regional viewpoints on the importance of fats, oils, surfactants, proteins and related materials.

Benefits of Section Membership

  • Provides a local forum for fats and oils professionals
  • Enhances your networking opportunities in your regional marketplace
  • Provides volunteer and leadership opportunities

Member dues contribute to and sustain Section-specific awards, events and support student involvement. Interested in joining a section? Complete this application and email to


The Asian Section welcomes all who are interested, and holds meetings annually.

Annual member dues $15. 

Section Leadership

Ahmad Parveez Ghulam Kadir, Malaysian Palm Oil Board, Malaysia

Jun Ogawa, Kyoto University, Japan

In-Hwan Kim, Korea University, Korea

Section Resources
Read the October 2021 Section newsletter.

Bringing together professionals in the Australia and Pacific Rim geographical regions.

Annual member dues $25. 

Section Leadership

Jacqui Adcock,

Immediate Past President
Matt Miller,

Vice President
Samaneh Ghasemi Fard, 

Matthew Taylor,

Clare Flakelar,

Newsletter Editor
Kirill Lagutin,

Social Media Manager
Tharani Dissanayake

General Committee Members
Lucky Inturrisi
Amy Logan
Xue-Rong Zhou
Xiao Su
Karin Luize Mazur

Section Events

Join us November 13–15, 2023, for the AOCS Australasian Section Biennial Meeting at Noah's on the Beach in Newcastle, Australia. 

With the innovative theme of "Future of Lipids," the program will present the latest science and industry updates relating to edible oil and ingredient supply, biotechnology, manufacture of fat-based products, nutritional research, oil analysis, latest developments with omega-3 oils, dairy lipids, and other activities that support the industry.

Register today.

Section Resources

Bringing together professionals from Canadian geographical regions. Dues are used to send students to the AOCS and CAOCS annual meetings.

Annual member dues $15. 

Visit 2022 Canadian Lipids and Proteins Conference for more details on research, processing and product innovation for foods and value-added products.

Section Leadership

The Canadian Section of AOCS (CAOCS) elected five new members to serve on its 2022-2023 Leadership Team:

  • Chair: Apollinaire Tsopmo, Carleton University, Ontario
  • Vice Chair: Farah Hosseinian, Carleton University, Ontario
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Kunal Kadiya, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon

Section Resources

The AOCS China Section:

  • Promotes information exchange, collaboration and partnership between Chinese and global fats, oils and related industries
  • Brings together professionals in the China geographical region
  • Supports friendship and professional growth of its members
  • Ensures high standards, superior quality, safety and value-added applications of fats, oils, proteins and related-materials

Learn more about the China Section.

Annual member dues $0.  

Section Leadership

Dr. Jiang Lianzhou,

Dr. Liu Keshun,

Dr. Liu Yuanfa,

Dr. Xu Xuebing,

Dr. Sui Xiaonan,

Standing Committee Members

Liu Guoqin, Ph.D.
Ma Kangming, Ph.D.
Wang Tong (Toni), Ph.D.
Wang Yong, Ph.D.

Advisory Council

Sun Shangde, Ph.D.
Wang Manyi, Ph.D.
Zhou Dayong, Ph.D.
Zhang Hui, Ph.D.
Zheng Mingming, Ph.D.
Yu Xiuzhu, Ph.D.

Section Resources

Bringing together professionals in the European geographical region.

Annual member dues $25, includes membership in Euro Fed Lipid.

Section Leadership

Paul Smith,

Leadership Team
Ignace Debruyne,

Etienne Deffense,

Stephanie Marty-Terrade,

Bringing together professionals in the geographic area of India.  The Section works closely with the Oil Technologists Association of India (OTAI).

Annual member dues $0. 

To get involved, contact AOCS:
Travis Skodack

Bringing together professionals in South America, Central America, Mexico and the Caribbean.

Annual member dues $15. 

Section President

Sandra Moya, Clariant

Leadership Team
Ana Milena Martinez, Daabon Group, Columbia
Andrés G. Rumayor, Palsgaard Industri, Mexico
Carlos Ramirez, Clariant
Elena Dibildox, Universidad Autonoma de SLP, Mexico
Federico Corvetto, South American Trading LLC, USA
Leon Pablo Espinosa, Desmet Ballestra North America Inc., USA
Marcus Dore, Sociedade Brasileira De Óleos e Gorduras, Brazil
Roberto Berbesi, Oil-Dri Corporation, USA

Read the March 2021 Section newsletter.

Read the September 2021 Section newsletter.