ISF Congress History

ISF organizes international congresses on fats and oils, with each congress headed by an internationally known scientist or technologist who acts as president of ISF until the following congress. Although all of the Congresses have been scientifically successful, several have been adversely influenced by political situations.

The Congress in Budapest was originally scheduled for Gdansk, but had to be moved late in the planning because of labor strikes in Poland.

ISF meeting in New Delhi had to be suddenly postponed only hours before it opened because of the assassination of India's Prime Minister.

The Congress was organized in The Hague but the Gulf War intervened. After the outbreak of the war, registration stopped completely. Many companies issued travel restrictions and as a result, speakers canceled their contributions. Under these circumstances there was no other option than to cancel the Congress. This event eventually led to the restructuring of ISF to what it is today.

The Congress was hindered once again--this time by terrorist attacks in the United States just four days prior to the beginning. All air travel into and out of the U.S. was halted in the wake of the attacks. The local organizing committee, with additional help from the Secretariat via telephone, assumed on-site management of the Congress and did an outstanding job of presenting the program to the delegates. Because of its leadership, the Congress was able to proceed as planned.

Recognizing the increasing number of congresses pertaining to professionals involved in the science of fats, oils, and lipids, the ISF Board of Directors decided in to discontinue sponsorship of its own Congress and offer plenary lectures at a regularly scheduled meeting of one of its member organizations. Still offered on a biannual basis, the inaugural offering of the “ISF Lectureship Series” was held in 2007 during the 98th AOCS Annual Meeting & Expo.

The 2011 JOCS World Congress on Oleo Science was scheduled to be the site of the 2011 ISF Lectureship Series. However, JOCS leaders decided to postpone their meeting (and the ISF Lectures) to 2012 because of the devastation resulting from the March 2011 earthquake and tsunami in Japan.

ISF Congresses
Date—Location, ISF President
1956—Milano, C. Jacini
1957—Paris, C. Paquot
1958—Sevilla, J. Martinez-Moreno
1959—Graz, G. Gorbach
1960—Gdansk, N. Niewiadomski
1962—London, E. C. Woodroofe
1964—Hamburg, H.P. Kaufmann
1966—Budapest, J. Hollo
1968—Rotterdam, J. Boldingh
1970—Chicago, W. O. Lundberg
1972—Göteborg (joint meeting with Lipidforum), S. Bergstrom
1974—Milano, R. Paoletti
1976—Marseille, M. Naudet
1978—Brighton, K. H. Velthuis
1980—New York, S. S. Chang
1983—Budapest, J. Hollo
1985—New Delhi (joint meeting with the Oil Technologists' Association of India), S. C. Singhal
1986—Münster (joint meeting with DGF), B. W. Werdelmann
1988—Tokyo (joint meeting with the Japan Oil Chemists' Society), A. Mori
1991—The Hague, J. Nieuwenhuis
1992—Toronto, (joint meeting with the American Oil Chemists' Society), J. Beare-Rogers
1995—The Hague, J.Nieuwenhuis
1997—Kuala Lumpur, A. Ong
1999—Brighton, D. Robinson
2001—Berlin, F. Spener
2003—Bordeaux, S. Claude
2005—Prague, P. Seifert

ISF Lectureship Series
Date—Location, ISF President
2007—Québec City, D. Foster
2009—Sydney, R. Mailer
2012—Sasebo, H. Shimasaki
2013—Antalya, M. Kellens
2015—Rosario, M. Tomás
2016—Kuala Lumpur, Yuen-May Choo
2018—Minneapolis, L. Sidisky
2020—Sydney, R. Mailer
2022—Kushiro, K. Miyashita