

Mail Address: AOCS, P.O. Box 17190, Urbana, IL 61803-7190 USA Street Address: AOCS, 2710 S. Boulder Drive, Urbana, IL 618026996 USA Phone: +1-217-359-2344 • Fax: +1-217-351-8091 E-Mail: general@aocs.org • Web: www.aocs.org

Minutes of the 2017 Annual Business Meeting

AOCS' CEO Patrick Donnelly welcomed participants to the 108th AOCS annual business meeting on Monday, May 1, 2017 in Orlando, Florida. He then introduced AOCS President, Blake Hendrix. Hendrix called the meeting to order and asked AOCS Secretary Len Sidisky to present the minutes of the 2016 business meeting. The motion to approve the minutes as published was made, seconded, and approved.

Hendrix then delivered his retiring president's address. He stressed that the Governing Board has been making investments to ensure the long-term sustainability of AOCS. He announced that the Society's journals will be transitioning from Springer to Wiley, and that the transition would be complete by 2018. He noted that AOCS members will now have free digital access to all three journals. He also mentioned that the World Conference on Fabric and Home Care, which had been held in Montreux Switzerland for four decades, would be moving to Boca Raton, Florida in 2018. Hendrix noted that the 7th Edition of the *Official Methods and Recommended Practices of the AOCS* was released earlier this year. He thanked the many volunteers, and especially Mark Collison, who served as Editor, for their efforts on the project.

Finally, Hendrix indicated that changes were made to the staffing structure supporting AOCS, based on benchmark data for scientific and engineering societies. Hendrix finished his address by thanking the society for the opportunity to serve.

Hendrix then announced that Moghis U Ahmad as this year's Stephen S. Chang Award recipient. Dr. Ahmad gave the award lecture.

Hendrix introduced AOCS Foundation Chairman, Manfred Trautmann, to provide the Foundation Report. Trautmann thanked all of those who contributed to the Foundation and then presented award winners supported by the Foundation. Ifeanyi Nwachukwu was awarded the Thomas H. Smouse Memorial Fellowship. Zipei Zhang was named as recipient of the Peter and Clare G. Kalustian Award. Syed Awais Ali Shah Bokhari received the Manuchehr Eijadi Award. The Hans Kaunitz Award went to Ruojie Zhang. Trautmann mentioned that Honored Students will be recognized during Division luncheons and dinners.

The next order of business was the passing of the gavel. Hendrix passed the AOCS gavel to incoming President Neil Widlak, and Widlak was presented Hendrix with the Past Presidents key.

President Widlak then introduced Len Sidisky to present the MilliporeSigma/Nicolas Pelick AOCS Research Award (formerly, Supleco Award) to Fereidoon Shahidi. Dr. Shahidi then gave is award lecture.

Widlak presented the Alton E. Bailey Award to Alejandro Marangoni. Widlak also recognized

Adeeb Hayyan, Nandika Bandara, Prasad Rasane as the top three member recruiters of the President's Club for 2016.

Widlak then presented the A.R. Baldwin Distinguished Service Award to Steven Hill. New AOCS Fellows, Dilip Nakhasi and Nissim Garti were called to the stage and recognized for their achievements in the respective fields. Widlak presented Laura Nyström with the AOCS Young Scientist Award.

Following the awards presentations, President Widlak gave his incoming address to the membership. He stated that the Governing Board has just initiated a strategic planning process to develop a roadmap for the future and build alignment among staff and volunteer leadership with regard to our highest priorities. Central to that effort will be a reexamination of how we deliver exceptional value to our members.

Before bringing the session to a close, Widlak mentioned that AOCS Chief Science Officer, Richard Cantrill, had recently announced his retirement effective July 1, 2017. Widlak presented a plaque to Cantrill recognizing him for his two decades of service to the Society.

Widlak then adjourned the meeting.